Search committee constituted for Lokayukta in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: A seven-member search committee headed by Justice Amitabh Ray has been constituted for the appointment of Lokayukta in the state.

Other members of the search committee include Professor Venkata Rao Rambhatla, Sanjib Hota, Dr Rabi Narayan Bohidar, Gopal Nanda, Dr Bidhubhusan Samal, and Professor Snigdha Patnaik.

The selection committee of the Lokayukta under the Chairmanship of Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Orissa High Court Chief Justice, Justice KS Jhaveri set up the search committee on Monday. Speaker of the Assembly Pradip Amar, leader of the Opposition in the Assembly Narasingh Mishra and former Judge SC AK Patnaik was also present in the meeting.

Odisha was the first State to pass the Lokayukta Bill in the Assembly in February 2014, however even four years since its passage the government is yet to appoint Lokayukta.

The search committee is mandated to recommend names for Lokayukta chairperson and its member within one month.

“The 7-member search committee has been given one month time to submit their recommendation to the selection committee regarding the names,” said AK Meena, convener of the selection committee.