Sarfraz warns Pakistan against taking Zimbabwe lightly

Karachi: Issuing a warning to his side, Pakistan skipper Sarfraz Ahmed has said that their upcoming tour to Zimbabwe will not be easy by any stretch of the imagination.

Pakistan will begin their tour to Zimbabwe with a T20 tri-series, also featuring Australia, from July 1 before they are slated to play five-match ODI series against the hosts from July 13 at the Queens Sports Club.
Reflecting on the same, Sarfraz–who is all set to lead the top-ranked side in the shortest format of the game– called on the Men in Green to avoid complacency against Zimbabwe.

“Zimbabwe tour is just around the corner but it won’t be easy by any stretch of the imagination. No team is weak in T20 cricket and hopefully we will perform well in the triangular series,” the 31-year-old said.
Sarfraz, meanwhile, hinted that youngsters who have been selected in the squad would be given opportunity whenever arises throughout the series.

“Young players will be inducted in the side whenever an opportunity arises,”the Dawn quoted Sarfraz, as saying.
Meanwhile, Australia, who are also one of the team to feature in the T20I tri-series in Zimbabwe, are currently going through a bad phase as they are still recovering from a ball-tampering scandal that sent shock waves through the cricket world in March this year.

However, the Pakistan wicketkeeper-batsman insisted that the Australia side would surely pose a tough challenge.
“Australia are going through a bad patch but they are not a weak side. Zimbabwe will also pose a stiff challenge as they will have the advantage of home conditions,” Sarfraz said.
The training camp for the Zimbabwe tour will be held at the Gaddafi Stadium from June 25 to 28 before departing for

The Pakistan squads are as follows:
ODI: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Imam ul Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Babar Azam (subject to fitness), Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Amir, Junaid Khan, Usman Khan Shinwari, Yasir Shah, Hasan Ali, Haris Sohail

Twenty20:Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Usman Khan Shinwari, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sahibzada Farhan.