Sahitya Akademi announces 2018 awards in 24 languages, Rahman Abbas bags Urdu award

New Delhi: Winners of the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award 2018 in 24 languages were announced on Wednesday. Sahitya Akademi Awards are one of the most prestigious literary honours bestowed on writers for their works across genres and languages. Recommended by jury members in respective languages, the awards were later approved by the Executive Board of India’s national academy of letters under the chairmanship of Akademi President Chandrashekhar Kambar.

As reported by Times Now, winners include Rahman Abbas in Urdu, Anees Saleem in English, Rama Kant Shukla in Sanskrit, Rajesh Kumar Vyas in Rajasthani, Lok Nath Upadhyay in Nepali, Chitra Mughal in Hindi and S. Ramakrishnan in Tamil.

Akademi Secretary K. Sreenivasarao announced the winners at a press conference and said that the books were selected on the basis of recommendations made by a jury of three members in each language in accordance with the rules.

The awards consist of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and a cheque of Rs 1 lakh. The awards will be presented to the authors at a special function in January next year at Kamani Auditorium.