Ruling Cong MLA quits post to pave way for CM’s election RPT election

Puducherry: Congress MLA A John Kumar today quit his post to pave way for Chief Minister V Narayanasamy to seek election RPT election from Nellithope assembly constituency and become an elected member.

Kumar, who is also Parliamentary Secretary to the Chief Minister, called on Speaker V Vaithilingam at his office in the Assembly premises and handed over the letter of resignation at 10 AM.

With his resignation, the decks have been cleared for Narayanasamy to contest the election through a by-poll from Nellithope constituency.

Speaking to reporters after accepting Kumar’s resignation, the Speaker said a notification declaring a vacancy in Nellithope constituency would be issued immediately and it would be forwarded to the Election Commission.

With the resignation of Kumar, the strength of the ruling Congress has come down from 15 to 14 in the Assembly.

Kumar was elected to Puducherry Assembly as a Congress nominee in the May 16 Assembly polls.

Narayanasamy, non-member of Puducherry assembly, was unanimously elected leader of the Congress Legislature Party on May 28 last and was sworn in as Chief Minister of the Union Territory on June 6.