ROs reject nomination papers of Farooq Sattar, Musharraf

Islamabad: The returning officers (ROs) on Tuesday rejected the nomination papers of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan’s (MQM-P) Dr Farooq Sattar and All Pakistan Muslim League (APML) chief Pervez Musharraf.

Sattar had filed nomination papers to contest elections from NA-245 constituency in Karachi. Whereas, Musharraf filed his nomination papers for NA-1 from Chitral.

The RO for NA-245, Ahsan Khan, rejected Sattar’s nomination papers as he concealed his status as an absconder in two cases, Dawn reported.
The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) will conclude the scrutiny of nomination papers today.

The nomination papers of PTI chief Imran Khan, PPP supremo Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari and PML-N’s Hamza Shahbaz and Maryam Nawaz have, however, been accepted.

The date of filing appeals was earlier extended to June 22, in case of objection to the decisions of returning officers,
The verdicts on appeals are to be announced on June 27. The revised list of candidates will then be published on June 28.

The last date for candidates to withdraw their nomination papers is June 29. The same day, the final list of candidates will be announced by the electoral body.

June 30 is when the electoral symbols will be issued to candidates.
Polling will be conducted on July 25.