Rohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami return for Champions Trophy

New Delhi (India): Indian opener Rohit Sharma, who has been sidelined for more than five months due to injury, has been recalled in the 15-member ODI squad for the Champions Trophy, beginning June 1 in England and Wales.
Rohit had been named in the squad as a replacement for KL Rahul, who is currently nursing a shoulder injury he sustained during the four-match Test series against Australia.

Fast bowler Mohammed Shami, who played his last match for India in the World Cup 2015, is also making a comeback in the Virat Kohli-led squad from injury.

Rohit and Shami seemed to have been rewarded following their decent performances for Mumbai Indians and Delhi Daredevils respectively in the ongoing tenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Shikhar Dhawan, Yuvraj Singh, Umesh Yadav, Kedar Jadhav and Jasprit Bumrah have also retained their spot in the squad.

Meanwhile, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik have been put on standby.

A day before the selection, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) ended the speculations surrounding India’s participation in the upcoming Champions Trophy and said that it has been unanimously decided that the Men in Blue will play the 50-over pinnacle event.

Earlier, the BCCI had deliberately missed the April 25 deadline for submission of the squad in their act of defiance against the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) new revenue model, which reduced the Indian cricket board’s revenues from USD 570 million to USD 293 million.

Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandey, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Manish Pandey. (ANI)