Red-carded Costa denies biting Barry post Chelsea’s FA Cup exit

London: Chelsea star striker Diego Costa has denied that he had bitten Everton midfielder Gareth Barry during their 0-2 defeat that eventually led to their exit from the FA Cup at Goodison Park.

The 27-year-old was sent off by referee Michael Oliver after he buried his head into the Everton midfielder’s neck and appeared to be sinking his teeth into Barry.

Reflecting on the matter, Chelsea manager Guus Hiddink said that he would not make any judgment until he gets a chance to see the footage, the Guardian reported.

Chelsea revealed that Diego had expressed his disappointment over his reaction to the challenge from Barry that led to his red card, but also admitted that he did not bite him during that argument.

The Football Association said that it was well aware of the incident and would take any further action on Costa only after receiving report from the referee. (ANI)