Ram Nath Kovind elected as 14th President of India

NEW DELHI: Election Commission of India on Thursday declared BJP-led NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind as the 14th President of India.

The former governor of Bihar secureda massive margin over his United Progressive Alliance (UPA) rival Meira Kumar in a straight fight.

n an electoral college of 4,986 voters with a vote value of 10,98,903, Kovind got 2,930 votes carrying a value of 7,00,244, while the former Lok Sabha Speaker secured 1,844 votes with a value of 3,67,314.

While Kovind got 65.65 per cent of the total valid vote value of 10,69,358, Meira Kumar got 34.35 per cent.

Announcing the election of Kovind as the 14th President, Returning Officer and Lok Sabha Secretary General Anoop Mishra said Kovind had got the required votes under the quota allotted to him in the transferable vote system under the Presidential and Vice Presidential Elections Act.

“I declare Ram Nath Kovind as duly elected to the Office of President,” he said.

Kovind is the first person from the RSS and from Uttar Pradesh and the second Dalit to Occupy the highest position in the country after KR Narayanan.

He will take oath as President of India on July 25.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee congratulates NDA’s Presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind for his win.

Muslims from Kanpur Dehat offer prayers for Ramnath Kovind in anticipation of his win.

With IANS inputs