Ramanthapur HPS wins Hyderabad Crossword round

Srivardhan Sajja and Kausthubah from Hyderabad Public School, Ramanthapur won the Hyderabad Round of the CCCC Cryptic Crossword Contest (CCCC) 2017. With this, they have qualified for the Grand Finale to be held in New Delhi towards the year-end.


The team of Vaishnavi A Punagin and K Neha of Ramanthapur HPS won the second position. The contest was held at The Hyderabad Public School which saw participation from 31 school teams. Principal Dr S. Narasimha Reddy of the host school handed over certificates and trophies to the winning members.


CCCC is an Annual National Inter-School competition where schools send a team of two students each to various city rounds across the country. The winning team from the each city round then gather at the national capital to vie for the National Crossword Champion trophy. It is open to students of class IX-XII in schools affiliated to any of the recognised boards in India.


CCCC 2017 is the fifth edition of the contest that began in 2013. Navrachana School, Vododara, is the reigning champion, having won the trophy in the three-day CCCC 2016 Grand Finale during December 5-7, 2016. The CCCC 2016 Grand Finale was recently telecast by DD National.


The Limca Book of Records has acknowledged CCCC 2015 as the biggest contest in the country of its type.    The current edition, which will see 39 city rounds across the country before the Grand Finale, was launched at DPS Ranchi on July 11 by Ms Aradhana Patnaik (IAS), Secretary, HRD, Jharkhand. Organised by Extra-C, a Patna-based civil society initiative, CCCC 2017 has Doordarshan, Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan and Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti as event associates. (NSS)