Rajasthan bypolls: Congress wins Mandalgarh assembly seat; leads in Alwar, Ajmer LS seats

JAIPUR: The Congress won the Mandalgarh assembly seat by defeating its nearest rival, a BJP candidate, by a margin of 12976 votes.

The Congress was maintaining a significant lead in Alwar and Ajmer, as per trends available in the counting of votes for the bypolls.

In Alwar, Congress candidate Karan Singh Yadav had secured 245,774 votes over his nearest rival, Jaswant Singh Yadav’s (BJP) 192,924 votes, after rounds of counting.

In Ajmer, Congress’s Raghu Sharma had 154,336 votes in his kitty over BJP’s Ram Swaroop Lamba who had 128,291 votes.

In Mandalgarh, where the BJP was maintaining a lead in the beginning, Congress’ Vivek Dhakad won the seat by a margin of 12976 votes.

The BJP had won all the 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state in the 2014 general elections.

The party, which wrested power from the Congress in 2013 in Rajasthan, had 161 MLAs in the House of 200. It had strategised raising the tally of seats to 180 in the assembly polls due this year end.

agencies input