Railways Minister flags off Vizag-New Delhi AP Express

The Indian Railways on Wednesday took another step forward in meeting the long pending demands of the people by providing connectivity from Delhi to the State of Andhra Pradesh and the newly formed State of Telengana by introducing a new train service viz. 22415/22416 New Delhi – Visakhapatnam AC AP Express via Vijaywada announced in the Railway Budget 2014-15.

The Train service was flagged off today through remote control by Union Minister of Railways Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu, along with Union Minister for Urban Development M. Venkaiah Naidu, Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju, Union Labour Minister Bandaru Dattatreya, Union Minister of State for Science & Technology Y.S. Chowdary and other Members of Parliament from the State. The remote control set up was done by establishing video-conferencing between Rail Bhawan (New Delhi) and Visakhapatnam (Vizag) Station. Several Members from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana were present on the occasion at Rail Bhawan end. Some Members of Parliament and MLAs were among those present at the Vizag Station end.

On this occasion, it was also announced that 12723/12724 New Delhi-Hyderabad Andhra Pradesh Express will be renamed as 12723/12724 New Delhi-Hyderabad Telangana Express w.e.f. November 15 this year.

The timings of 22415/22416 New Delhi – Visakhapatnam AC AP Express are as follows : –

(a) 22416 New Delhi – Visakhapatnam AP AC Express; it will depart New Delhi at 06:40 a.m. and will reach Visakhapatnam next day at 06:45 p.m.

(b) 22415 Visakhapatnam – New Delhi AP AC Express; it will start Visakhapatnam at 07:45 and will reach New Delhi at 07:00 p.m.

This train will consist of 16 coaches which include one AC 1 coach, five AC 2 coaches, Seven AC 3 coaches, power cars, pantry car.

Commercial stoppages of this train enroute are Jhansi, Gwalior, Agra Cantt. Bhopal, Balharshah, Chandrapur, Nagpur, Pandhurna, Khammam, Warangal, Peddapali Jn., Ramagundam, Sirpur Kagaznagar, Duvvada, Anakapalle, Samalkot Jn., Rajahmundry, Tadepalligudam, Eluru, Vijaywada. (INN)