Rahul meets two newly elected Congress MPs, MLA from Rajasthan

New Delhi: Congress President Rahul Gandhi on Monday met the party’s two newly elected MPs and an MLA who won the bypolls in Rajasthan by trouncing candidates of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party.

They are Karan Singh Yadav, who won the Alwar Lok Sabha seat, Raghu Sharma, who won the Ajmer Lok Sabha seat and Vivek Dhakar who won from the Mandalgarh Assembly constituency.

The three were accompanied by Rajasthan Congress chief Sachin Pilot, senior party leader C.P. Joshi and several party leaders from Rajasthan.

Earlier in the day, Yadav and Sharma took oath as members of the Lok Sabha.

The Congress did not win a single seat in Rajasthan in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

The election to the three seats were held on January 29 and the results were declared on February 1.

The elections to the Lok Sabha constituencies were necessitated by the deaths of Sanwarlal Jat (Ajmer) and Mahant Chand Nath Yogi (Alwar).

The election in Mandalgarh was necessitated by the death of BJP MLA Kirti Kumari due to swine flu in August last year.