Punjab polls: Sanjha Morcha releases 1st list of 41 candidates

Amritsar, December 31: The Sanjha Morcha, a third front forged by the People s Party of Punjab (PPP), CPM, CPI and Shiromani Akali Dal (Longowal), today released its first list of 41 candidates for the coming assembly elections in Punjab. Of these 29 candidates are from the PPP, five each from CPM, CPI and two from the Shiromani Akali Dal (Longowal). By announcing the candidature of Mr Gurdas Badal (PPP), younger brother of Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal, from the Lambi constituency, the Sanjha Morcha has ensured an interesting electoral fight between the two brothers. The ruling Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) had already announced the candidature of Mr Prakash Singh Badal from Lambi, his traditional seat. PPP president and former Finance Minister Manpreet Singh Badal, estranged nephew of Chief Minister Badal, will contest from his traditional seat Gidderbaha. Mr Abhey Singh Sandhu (PPP), nephew of Shaheed Bhagat Singh, will contest from Nawanshar and former SGPC member Kuldeep Singh Dhose from Dharamkot. Former MLAs Gaganjit Singh Barnala, son of former Punjab Chief Minister and Tamil Nadu Governor Surjit Singh Barnala, and Mr Baldev Singh Mann of Shiromani Akali Dal (Longowal) will contest from Dhuri and Sangrur constituencies respectively.