Puducherry Assembly to have women MLAs after 20 years

New Delhi: After a gap of 20 years, the Puducherry assembly will have women legislators with four of them getting elected on Thursday.

V Vizeaveny (Cong – Nettapakkam), Geetha (DMK-Neravy T R Pattinam, B Kobika (AINRC -Thirubuvani) and Chandrapriyanka (AINRC – Neduncadu) were among the 30 legislators elected to the assembly.

No women candidate were elected to the assembly after S Arasi (AIADMK) in 1996.

Congress, which was routed in Assam and Kerala, got a consolation victory of sorts in Puducherry as the party along with DMK stormed to power in the tiny union territory with a simple majority. The alliance bagged 17 seats in the 30-member assembly.

Congress avenged its defeat in the 2011 elections at the hands of AINRC founder N Rangasamy, who broke away from the national party to form his outfit and rode it to power, as the ruling party fell by the wayside bagging just eight seats.