Protests against Telangana escalate, affects normal life in Seemandhra

A day after the ruling Congress announced its decision to carve out a new Telangana state out of Andhra Pradesh, normal life was affected in Rayalaseema and Coastal Andhra regions on Wednesday due to the shutdown called by the Seemandhra Joint Action Committee protesting against the proposed division of the state.

Students and activists of various groups are also reported to have taken to the streets to vent their ire over the proposed break-up and demanding the Government to keep the state united. Road transport in these areas has come to a grinding halt, which has led to severe inconvenience to commuters, while shops, cinema theatres, business establishments and educational institutions have downed shutters.

The effect of the shutdown is more visible in urban areas like Vijayawada, Ananthapur, Visakhapatnam, Ongolu and Tirupati. Protesters have demanded resignation of all public representatives to mount pressure on the party to withdraw the decision. In Vijaywada, protesters blocked traffic and shouted slogans against the Government. One of the protesters, Suvan said: “Telangana is not an issue of the political parties or the political leaders. Telangana is an issue of the people and people who are living in Hyderabad. I request all the high command people to withdraw the Telangana proposal, because the future of the Andhra students and the future of the Telegu people lies in Hyderabad. And forming Telangana is a black day for Andhra Pradesh. And I request the High Command to withdraw the formation of the Telangana state.

” Meanwhile, the leaders across party lines are holding consultations over their plan of action in Hyderabad. While Congress leaders from Rayalaseema held a meeting this morning, ministers from the two regions also met separately. According to reports, at least four ministers from Andhra Pradesh have handed over their resignations to Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy in protest against Congress’ decision to create a new Telangana state and six party MLAs have also quit. (ANI)