Proteas women to host Pakistan for limited-overs series

Johannesburg [South Africa]: South Africa, known as the Proteas, will host Pakistan for eight limited-overs games, comprising three one-day internationals and five-match T20Is across five venues, beginning May 6.

The series follows on from South Africa’s 3-0 clean-sweep over Sri Lanka across both formats, while Pakistan’s enjoyable historic 2-1 series win against West Indies in Dubai.

South Africa are placed fourth with 13 points from 12 games in the ICC Women’s Championship (IWC) log, one place above Pakistan who have 12 points from as many games.

The last time the sides met, South Africa emerged the winners by three wickets in their opening fixture of the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup in England. Before that, it was again the Proteas who won the three-match ODI series by 2-1.

“After a successful home tour against Sri Lanka, we are pleased with the team’s direction and welcome another challenging opponent to our shores in Pakistan. This tour will provide another ideal opportunity for the Proteas to contest for six the IWC points on offer towards direct qualification for the ICC Women’s World Cup,” Cricket South Africa (CSA) Head of Cricket Pathways, Corrie van Zyl said.

“Pakistan also come off the back of a successful and historic series win against West Indies, so it will be a very competitive tour and we look forward to seeing how our ladies execute some of the identified areas of improvement that will stand them in good stead in future ICC and bilateral events, as well as their objective of becoming one of the best teams in the world.”

South Africa will begin their home series against Pakistan with the ODI series, which will start May 6 at the Senwes Park. The teams will return at the same venue on May 9 for second game before heading to Willowmoore Park, where the teams will play their third ODI on May 12.

Meanwhile, the T20I series will help both sides continue their preparation for the ICC T20 Women’s World Cup 2020 in Australia. Both sides will meet for five T20Is, beginning May 15 at the Tuks Oval, followed by second and third at the Pietermaritzburg Oval on May 18 and 19 and the fourth and fifth at the Willowmoore Park on May 22 and 23 respectively.