Priyadarshini Global Awards: ISRO, Katrina, Juhi Chawla to be honoured

Mumbai :Bengaluru-based Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) and Bollywood actors Katrina Kaif and Juhi Chawla are among recipients of the Priyadarshini Global Awards 2016 which will be presented in Mumbai on September 19.

Other recipients of the awards, instituted by a socio-cultural and educational organisation Priyadarshini Academy, in various fields are from Israel, Switzerland and UK. The awards are given to personalities and organisations for contribution in their respective fields.

Noted scientist and Chairman of ISRO, A S Kiran Kumar, would receive the award for the agency’s outstanding contribution to development of space science and technology, according to a release issued by the Academy here today.

Kaif would be presented “Smita Patil Memorial Award for Best Actor” (part of the overall awards), while Chawla would be honoured for her outstanding role in promoting social causes, said the NGO which has completed 32 years of existence.

Chawla has filed a petition in the Bombay High Court against mobile tower radiation.

The awards would be presented at a function in a luxury hotel here in presence of Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari, Suresh Prabhu, Piyush Goyal, real estate tycoon & Chairman of Priyadarshini Academy Niranjan Hiranandani and Chairman-Emeritus of the Academy, Nanik Rupani.

Another prestigious honour titled “Ramakrishna Bajaj Memorial Global Award” would be presented to Anshu Gupta, Founder Director of Goonj, an NGO of Delhi, for his outstanding contribution in promoting the dignity of poor.

Venki Ramakrishnan, an India-born Nobel Prize winning scientist, will be presented the Priyadarshini Academy Global Award, the release said.