Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal became first Arab Muslim join Buffett and Gates’ The Giving Pledge

Riyadh: Saudi Arabian billionaire Prince Alwaleed bin Talal has become the first Arab Muslim to join Buffett and Gates’ Giving Pledge this year.

Alwaleed Philanthropies (AP), chaired by Prince Alwaleed was inspired by the Gates Foundation, set up by Bill and Melinda Gates in 1997 pledges in commitment to giving more than half of their wealth to good causes.

This comes after 60-year-old prince’s announcement last July that he would pledge his entire $32 billion fortune to good causes.

Self-proclaimed “Warren Buffett of Arabia”- Alwaleed nephew of King Salman is one of the world’s richest people.

“More than three decades ago when I founded Alwaleed Philanthropies, I made a commitment to help build a more peaceful, equitable and sustainable world for generations to come,” Prince Alwaleed was quoted as saying to the Arab News.

“It is this same commitment that has driven me to take the Giving Pledge today. I am honored to be the first Arab to do so, and it is my sincere hope that many more Arabs and Muslims will join in Giving Pledge. I have been blessed with a great deal of good fortune in my life. For me, the Giving Pledge is an expression of my desire to give back, both to my community and to the wider world.”

With the addition of 17 new members this year, The Giving Pledge brings the elite group’s membership to 154 signatories from 16 countries around the world.

Here is the full list of the 17 new members announced Wednesday:

 Margaret and Sylvan Adams (Israel)

 HRH Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Bin Abdulaziz AlSaud (Saudi Arabia)

 Lynne and Marc Benioff (United States)

 Nathan and Elizabeth Blecharczyk (United States)

 Brian Chesky (United States)

 Scott Cook and Signe Ostby (United States)

 Jack and Laura Dangermond (United States)

 Henry Engelhardt, CBE and Diane Briere de l’Isle-Engelhardt, OBE (United Kingdom)

 Joe Gebbia (United States)

 Sir Tom and Lady Marion Hunter (United Kingdom)

 Robert and Arlene Kogod (United States)

 Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw (India)

 PNC and Sobha Menon (UAE)

 Gary K. Michelson, M.D. (United States)

 Gensheng Niu (China)

 Liz Simons and Mark Heising (United States)

 Dr. Herbert and Nicole Wertheim (United States)