Polls held for 6 Telangana Legislative Council seats

Hyderabad: Elections to six seats in the Telangana Legislative Council from the local bodies’ constituency in four districts were held on Sunday.

“The polling was completed peacefully without any untoward incident,” said Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Bhanwar Lal.

As many as 19 candidates are in the fray in the elections to the six seats — two each in Ranga Reddy and Mahabubnagar districts and one each in Nalgonda and Khammam.

Ranga Reddy district recorded 99.74 percentage polling followed by Mahbubnagar at 99.7 while the figures for Nalgonda and Khammam stood at 99.1 and 95.32 per cent, respectively, officials said.

Candidates of TRS, Congress, Telugu Desam, YSR Congress, CPI as well as independents are among the contenders in these polls.

As many as 19 polling stations were set up at sub- divisional headquarters to facilitate polling by a total electorate of 3,869 voters.

The counting of votes will take place on December 30. The ruling TRS has already won six seats unanimously in the Karimnagar, Warangal, Nizamabad, Medak and Adilabad districts of the state.