Polling in LS seats of Agra region on April 18

Agra: Polling in Lok Sabha constituencies in Uttar Pradesh’s Agra and neighbouring districts of Mathura, Firozabad, Hathras, and Aligarh will held in the second phase on April 18.

Agra District Magistrate N.G. Ravi Kumar said preparations for the elections would be completed within a week. Officials have already been assigned duties, he added.

District election office asked political parties to remove all hoardings and banners within 24 hours.

So far only the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has announced its candidates for the Agra city and Fatehpur Sikri seats.

In 2014, the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Ram Shankar Katheria trounced BSP’s Narayan Singh Suman from Agra (reserved) seat while in Fatehpur Sikri, BJP’s Choudhary Babu Lal defeated BSP’s Seema Upadhyaya.

Polling to Uttar Pradesh’s 80 Lok Sabha seats will be held across all seven phases. Counting will be held on May 23.