PM Modi responsible for killing of jawans in J-K: Rahul

Politics: Launching a scathing attack at Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led central government, Congress president Rahul Gandhi on Monday held the Centre responsible for the killing of army personnel in Jammu and Kashmir.

“The soldiers dying in Jammu and Kashmir is due to Prime Minister Modi. What has he done for armed forces? He has left the state of Jammu and Kashmir in a burning state and has opened the doors to terrorists,” said the Gandhi scion while addressing a rally in Ujjain.

Stepping up his attack against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government, the Congress chief said the party practices the religion of corruption.

Gandhi further said that the party’s claim of implementing One Rank One Pension (OROP) for the ex-servicemen is a “blatant lie”. “The claim of BJP government about bringing the OROP into effect is false. The Congress government will definitely implement OROP, if voted to power,” Gandhi stated.

Raking up the issue of Rafale deal, the Congress president said, “The Congress had agreed over a price of Rs 526 crore to buy the Rafale jet, but the Prime Minister was accompanied by businessman Anil Ambani to France. The Prime Minister asked then French Prime Minister Francois Hollande to give the contract to Anil Ambani and not to Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL), at Rs 1600 crore and not 526 crore (per jet). Had HAL bagged the Rafale contract, numerous engineers would have got employment.”

Gandhi then linked the Rafale controversy to the ongoing row in the Central Bureau Of Investigation (CBI) and reiterated his earlier claim that agency director Alok Verma was to initiate a probe into the alleged scam.

“Now, Prime Minister Modi removed the Central Bureau Of Investigation (CBI) director from his post to prevent him from carrying out an investigation into the Rafale scam. Chowkidar chor hai (watchman is thief),” said Rahul Gandhi.

Elections in Madhya Pradesh are scheduled to be held in a single phase on November 28 while counting of votes will held on December 11.