Pinarayi Vijayan to be sworn-in as Kerala CM today

Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala): Veteran CPI-M polit bureau member Pinarayi Vijayan will be sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Kerala today.

Governor P. Sathasivam will also administer the oath of office and secrecy to 18 ministers in Thiruvananthapuram at 4 p.m. Most of the ministers to be sworn-in this evening are new faces.

According to the list of ministers released by CPI-M Kerala State Committee, eight MLAs are becoming ministers for the first time. There will be 12 minister from CPI-M including Vijayan.

While four ministers will be from CPI, three others are from Congress(S), NCP and JD(S).

CPI(M)-led left Democratic Front (LDF) came back to power in Kerala after five years, winning 91 seats in the 140 member Assembly, while UDF won 47 seats.

For the first time in the history of Kerala Assembly, the Bharatiya Janata Party opened its account winning one seat. (ANI)