Pakistan Polls: Bilawal, Shehbaz suffer major setbacks

Lahore [Pakistan]: With the final tally of the Pakistan election results to be announced shortly, trends thus far have shown that a number of key candidates have suffered major setbacks in their respective constituencies.

In the NA-2 constituency, Shehbaz Sharif, who is the president of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and brother of jailed, former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, was defeated by PTI’s Saleem Rehman.

Rehman garnered 68,162 votes while Shehbaz secured 22,756 votes, according to Geo TV.

In Na-192, Sharif has reportedly been defeated by PTI’s Mohammad Khan Leghari.

Meanwhile, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari has reportedly failed to secure NA-246 constituency, Lyari, which is said to be his strong suit.

Bhutto has reportedly lost to PTI’s Mohammad Shakoor Shad.

In Malakand too (NA-8), Bhutto has reportedly been defeated by PTI’s Junaid Akbar, who has garnered 81,310 votes.
Former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi has conceded defeat to PTI chief Imran Khan in NA-53, Islamabad 2.

Imran secured 92,891 votes as compared to Abbasi’s 44,314.

With the total of 91,381 votes, the former premier also lost from NA-57, Rawalpindi 1 to PTI’s Sadaqat Ali Abbasi, who secured 97,104 votes.

Another former prime minister and PPP leader Yousuf Raza Gilani was also defeated by PTI’s Muhammad Ibrahim Khan, who secured 83,304 votes in NA-158, Multan 5.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Thursday announced that final results of Pakistan elections would be out within 24 hours.

As per current trends, the PTI has taken lead in 105 seats, with PML-N in the second position and PPP in third, according to The Dawn.

PTI chairman Imran Khan has won the NA-95 Mianwali constituency in Punjab, defeating PML-N candidate Abdullah Khan by nearly 80,000 votes, ARY News reported citing unofficial results.

Imran won 1, 27,530 votes in the PML-N stronghold, while Abdullah settled in at less than 50,000 votes.

Bhutto, on the other hand, is leading in the Larkana-I seat with 2,717 votes, compared to MMA’s Rashid Mehmood Soomro, who has got 459 votes so far. (ANI)