Pakistan name ODI squad for series against Australia

Dubai [UAE]: Pakistan have named 16-member squad for the five-match ODI series against Australia. The team has decided to rest their several key players ahead of the World Cup.

Sarfaraz Ahmed, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Shadab Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi have all been given rest for the five-match ODI series against Australia while Hussain Talat has been dropped and Mohammad Hafeez is still benched after thumb surgery.

Shoaib Malik will lead the team in the absence of Sarfaraz.

Haris Sohail, Junaid Khan, Umar Akhmal, Yasir Shah and the uncapped players Abbas, Abid Ali, Mohammad Hasnain and Saad Ali name have named as the replacement for the players who have given been rest in the series against Australia.

“Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Hasnain and Saad Ali have been rewarded for stellar performances in domestic cricket, Abid Ali has been knocking on the doors of international cricket … Mohammad Hasnain has been identified as one of the fast bowlers for the future,” International Cricket Council(ICC) quoted Pakistan chairman of selectors Inzamam-ul-Haq as saying.

Pakistan will depart for UAE on 18 March.

Pakistan ODI squad to face Australia: Shoaib Malik (c), Abid Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Sohail, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan, Saad Ali, Shan Masood, Umar Akmal, Usman Shinwari, Yasir Shah.