Pak bypolls: Imran suffers setback as Nawaz advances

Islamabad: Imran Khan led Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has suffered some major setback in the bypolls conducted on Monday as Nawaz Sharif-led Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz advanced.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) secured a seat in Lahore, reported the Dawn.

Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam’s (JUI) Zahid Durrani secured the seat NA-35, Bannu which was earlier vacated by Prime Minister Imran Khan. PML-N had allied with JUI against PTI.

In the bypolls on 11 Punjab Assembly seats, the PML-N won six and the PTI secured three. The other two seats were secured by independent candidates.

PML-N’s Nasir Mahmood emerged victor with 60,492 votes in PP-27 which was vacated by Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry,
The PTI also lost to the PML-N in PP-292, PP-222, NA-103 and NA-56.

The PK-3 and PK-7 seats in SWAT which were earlier secured by PTI on July 25 general elections are now secured by PML-N and Awami National Party.