Over 72% electors vote to form first Telangana Govt

Barring a few instance of minor violence, the polling was by and large peaceful in 119 Assembly and 17 Lok Sabha constituencies on Wednesday.

Addressing a press conference here, Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwarlal informed that there was an increase in overall polling percentage in all districts of Telangana. Nearly 72 per cent or 2.10 crore voters had exercised their vote for 265 Lok Sabha and 1669 Assembly candidates. Compared to 2009 elections, there was an increase in the polling percentage.

As against the polling percentage of 67.71% in 2009, this time the percentage was 72. There has been no demand for repolling from anywhere in the region. However, one candidate of Jubilee Hills Assembly segment Abdul Waheed of JD (U) had complained of misprinting of his symbol and sought re-polling in the entire constituency. The CEO said that a decision in this regard would be taken based on the directions of Election Commission of India.

While Hyderabad and Khammam districts witnessed a drop in polling percentage compared to 2009 elections, it increased in remaining eight districts of Telangana. Nalgonda is on top with 80.56% (74.93% in 2009) followed by Adilabad with 78% (74.62%), Khammam with 78% (80.20), Medak – 77% (74.97), Karimagar – 76.2% (66.53), Warangal – 75% (72.71), Mahabubnagar – 73% (68.81), Nizamabad – 69% (70.41), Ranga Reddy – 60% (53.79) and Hyderabad – 53 (58.6).

Bhanwarlal said that as 274,335 personnel were deployed for the conduct of smooth, free and fair polls. (INN)