Opposition candidates in Warangal by-polls are non-locals: TRS

Telangana Rashtra Samithi on Saturday alleged that the candidates of all opposition parties, who are in the fray for Warangal by-elections, are non-locals.

The TRS has also decided to make non-local candidates as an issue during the election campaign. The decision was taken during party’s extended meeting in Kodakundala in Warangal district held on Saturday. The meeting was attended by Deputy Chief Minister Kadiyam Srihari, Ministers Jagadishwar Reddy and Tummala Nageshwara Rao and other leaders.

Addressing the meeting, Kadiyam said that the main opposition Congress and BJP could not find a local candidate and therefore, nominated outsiders as their candidate. Contrary to this, Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao has selected a poor and local candidate P. Dayakar, who had played an active role in the statehood agitation. He said Congress candidate Sarve Satyanarayana and BJP nominee Dr. P. Devaiah did not participate in the Telangana movement. He said that the Left Parties were contesting the by-polls in a symbolic manner only to mark their presence.

Speaking on the occasion, Jagadish Reddy said that the performance of TRS Government during the last 17 months would ensure the victory of Dayakar in the by-polls. He said that the Telangana was on the top in terms of implementation of welfare schemes. He blamed the mistakes of previous regimes for the farmers’ suicides. He said that both the Congress and TDP have done injustice with Telangana and did not complete a single project. (INN)