No-confidence motion: Shiv Sena boycotts parliamentary work

New Delhi: The Shiv Sena decided to boycott parliamentary work on Friday. The party MPs did not sign the attendance register also.

Speaking to ANI, Shiv Sena MP Anandrao Adsul confirmed that the party will not take part in Parliament work today.

“We are boycotting parliamentary work today and we have not even signed our attendance,” Adsul said.

A discussion on no-confidence motion is underway in Parliament against Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government over special category status issue to Andhra Pradesh. The Telegu Desam Party moved the motion on July 18.

On July 19, it was reported that the Shiv Sena will vote against the no-confidence motion. The party had issued a whip to its MPs directing them to support the central government.

According to sources, the decision was taken after Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah spoke to Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray over the phone on the no-confidence motion. (ANI)