News World

Nepal PM to add four new faces in his Cabinet

Nepal PM to add four new faces in his Cabinet
Newly-elected Nepalese Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal, also known as Prachanda, administers the oath of office at the presidential building "Shital Niwas" in Kathmandu, Nepal August 4, 2016. REUTERS/Navesh Chitrakar

Kathmandu: Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal today expanded his cabinet and added four ministers from the Communist Party of Nepal- Maoist Center.

Maoist leaders Janardan Sharma, Ram Karki, Hitraj Panday and Dhaniram Poudel will be sworn-in at 3 p.m. local time today.

Reports suggest that Sharma will be given the Energy Ministry, Karki will take charge of Information and Communication Ministry, Poudel will be assigned the Education Ministry and Panday will take over as the Local Development Minister.

Dahal yesterday informed President Bidhya Devi Bhandari of his plan to expand the Cabinet.

He was elected the Prime Minister on August 3 and has been leading a nine-member Cabinet.

The Cabinet expansion was delayed due to the Nepali Congress as the general convention of the party’s sister wing, Nepal Students’ Union, is underway. (ANI)