Nawada with LJP, Giriraj may contest from Begusarai

New Delhi: As Bihar’s Nawada parliamentary seat went to the LJP under the seat-sharing formula finalised by the NDA, Union Minister Giriraj Singh is likely to contest from Begusarai Lok Sabha constituency.

Though the BJP has not yet finalised its candidates, the LJP is likley to field Veena Devi, the present MP of Munger from Nawada. Devi, wife of fromer MP Surajbhan, is likely to contest to Nawada because Munger seat has gone to JD-U. Senior JD-U leader Lalan Singh, a Bihar minister, is set to contest from Munger.

Lalan Singh, a Bhumihar, had won from Munger in 2009 seat but lost in 2014 when the JD-U was not part of the NDA and contested the polls alone.

Former JNU student union president Kanhaiya Kumar is likely to contest as a CPI candidate supported by the opposition Grand Alliance (RJD, Congress, RLSP, HAM) from Begusarai.

If Giriraj Singh agrees to contest from Begusarai, an interesting battle can be seen between the two firebrand leaders.

Giriraj Singh had announced last week that he will either contest from Nawada, which he won in 2014, or will not contest the upcoming general elections.

Giriraj Singh, known for his controversial statements, is a staunch supporter of Modi and a champion of Hinduvta politics.

Belonging to a landed and powerful upper caste Bhumihar family, Nawada is considered a safe seat for him against the backdrop of Bihar’s caste-ridden politics. Nawada has a sizeable population of Bhumihars.

According to the seat-sharing formula, the BJP and the JD-U will contest 17 seats each, while the remaining six seats will go to the Ram Vilas Paswan-led LJP.

Another seat, earlier won by BJP that has gone to JD-U is Bhagalpur The seat was earlier represented by former union minister Shahnawaz Hussain, one of the Muslim faces of the BJP in Bihar. In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Hussain was defeated by RJD’s Bulo Mandal in a close fight. He first won the Bhagalpur seat in 2004 in a by-election. He again won the seat in 2009.