Nana Patekar gets Godavari Gaurav award

Actor Nana Patekar and other prominent personalities from various fields were today presented with ‘Godavari Gaurav’ award here.

The awards, which carry Rs 21,000 in cash besides mementos, were presented by veteran Marathi litterateur Madhu Mangesh Karnik at Kalidas Kala Mandir in a function.

The awardees include renowned dancer Kanak Rele (dance/music), Chetana Sinha (women’s cause), noted scientist Dr Shashikant Chitre, Balkrishna Doshi (architecture), and cyclist brothers Mahindra Mahajan and Jitendra Mahajan who completed 4800 km Race Across America (RAAM).

The award is constituted by city-based Kusumagraj Pratisthan in memory of noted playwright and poet late V V Shirwadkar.

Noted social activist Prakash Amte, vocalist Gangubai Hangal, director Hrishikesh Mukherjee, scientist Raghunath Mashelkar were among the prominent recipients of the award in the past.
The Awards are our way to restore some of the great

confidence in this profession,” said Ms. Raizada, while addressing the stellar audience.

“This year, like every year, our eminent jury, comprising CEOs, judges, senior law firm partners and GCs, has carefully reviewed the shortlisted parties and impartially weighed all pros and cons to arrive at the winners across categories. If I may add, we have raised the bar even higher for 2015-16, by including curated award categories based on intensive research.

Today, it would not be an exaggeration to say that our Awards have reached a level of credibility where top international investors, business leaders, government officials and professionals bank on our surveys to gauge performance,” stressed Ms. Raizada.

Kapil Sibal, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India, who received the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’, said, “This award does not signify my sunset. For me, it is the start of a new era of my life. Law is not about making money but it means to stand for justice.” While Dilip Udeshi, Udwadia & Udeshi, won the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award – Law Firm Partner.’

‘Star of the Millennium’ for ‘Outstanding Contribution & Excellence in the Legal Industry’ went to Justice B.N. Srikrishna, Former Judge, Supreme Court of India, whereas Justice A.P. Shah, Chief Justice, Delhi High Court, bagged ‘Legal Icon of the Year.’ A new award in the premier category, ‘CEO of the Year’, was picked up by Rana Kapoor, Managing Director & CEO, YES Bank.