Mumtaz Khan takes oath as Pro-tem Speaker

Hyderabad: Governor of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh E.S.L. Narasimhan administered the oath to Mumtaz Ahmad Khan, MLA as Pro-tem Speaker of the Telangana Legislative Assembly at a function held at Durbar Hall in Raj Bhavan on Wednesday.

Mumtaz Ahmad Khan will in turn administer oath to all the newly elected Members of the Telangana Legislative Assembly on Thursday.

Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan and Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao congratulated Mumtaz Ahmad Khan and presented bouquets to him. Former Assembly Speaker Madhusudana Chary, Legislative Council Chairman Swamy Goud, Home Minister Mohammed Mahmood Ali, MPs Asaduddin Owaisi, Vinod Kumar, Santosh Kumar, several newly elected MLAs and representatives of political parties were present at the swearing in ceremony.

Telangana Chief Secretary Dr. S.K. Joshi, DGP Mahender Reddy and other officials and non-officials were also present at the programme.