Mumbai co-op bank with zero NPA bags top award

Mumbai: Mumbai-headquartered Pratap Cooperative Bank (PCoB), which has notched a record of zero non-performing assets (NPAs) for 10 years, has been named for the Maharashtra State Cooperative Banks Association Ltd. (MSCBAL) 23rd award for last fiscal, an official said on Saturday.

“We have been declared the winner of the ‘Padma Bhusna Vasantdada Patil Award’ for FY 2017-18 for the best cooperative bank in the Rs 100 crore-Rs 500 crore deposits category,” PCoB Chairman C.K. Singh told IANS.

This and other categories’ awards shall be given away on February 4 at a function in Mumbai to be attended by State Cooperation Minister Subhash Deshmukh, Nationalist Congress Party President Sharad Pawar and other dignitaries, said a MSCBAL official.

The other winning banks in the same category are: Chiplun Urban Co-Op Bank Ltd, Ratnagiri; Annasaheb Sawant Urban Co-op Bank Ltd, Raigad; Babasaheb Deshmukh Co-operative Bank Ltd, Sangli; Sangamner Merchants Co-op Bank Ltd and Rukmini Co-op Bank Ltd, both in Ahmednagar; Nanded Merchants Co-op Bank Ltd, Nanded; and Mahatma Phule Urban Co-op Bank Ltd, Amravati.

In the category for deposits below Rs 100 crore, the top winner is Bassein Catholic Co-op Bank Ltd, Palghar, and the others are: Revdanda Urban Co-op Bank Ltd, Raigad; Shivdaulat Co-op Bank Ltd, Satara; Sai Sanjivani Co-op Bank Ltd, Ahmednagar; Valmiki Urban Co-op Bank Ltd, Parbhani; and Vidarbha Merchants Urban Co-op Bank Ltd, Wardha.

For the top category of Rs 500 crore-Rs 1,000 crore, the winners are: Satara Co-op Bank Ltd, Mumbai; Vasai Janata Co-op Bank Ltd, Palghar; Shree Mahalaxmi Co-op Bank Ltd, Kolhapur; Hasti Co-op Bank Ltd, Dhule; Shri Chhatrapati Rajarshi Shahu Urban Co-op Bank Ltd, Beed; Sunderlal Savji Urban Co-op Bank Ltd, Parbhani; Arvind Co-op Bank Ltd, Nagpur; and Khamgaon Urban Co-op Bank Ltd, Buldana.

In other categories, the winning co-operative banks include Baramati Cooperative Bank Ltd, Pune; Nashik District Government Employees Co-op Bank Ltd, Nashik; Saraswat Co-op Bank, Mumbai, and Bassein Catholic Co-op Bank Ltd, Palghar.