Mulayam Singh Yadav not in list of SP campaigners for Lok Sabha polls

New Delhi: Samajwadi Party on Sunday announced the list of candidates for Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh.

Party chief Akhilesh Yadav is set to contest from Azamgarh – the parliamentary constituency of his father Mulayam Singh Yadav while senior SP leader Azam Khan will contest elections from Rampur constituency.

The party also released the first list of 40 poll campaigners for the state including party Chief Akhilesh Yadav and senior leaders like Ramgopal Yadav, Azam Khan, Jaya Bachchan, Dimple Yadav and others.

Samajwadi Party (SP) patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav’s name however was missing in the list of campaigners.
The first list of poll-campaigners have 40 names These leaders will campaign various Lok Sabha constituencies that will go for poll in the first phase of polling in Uttar Pradesh.

Though the party sources claim that Mulayam Singh Yadav’s name would be there in the second list as his constituency Mainpuri will go for polls in the second phase.

There are 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh where SP, BSP and RLD are contesting in alliance. The SP will contest on 37 seats, BSP on 38 and RLD on 3 seats. The alliance has left two seats, Rae Bareli and Amethi, for the Congress.

Lok Sabha elections are scheduled to be held from April 11 and will go on till May 19 in seven phases. The polls in Uttar Pradesh will be held in all seven phases.

The dates of polling in Uttar Pradesh are April 11, 18, 23, 29 and May 6, 12 and 19. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.