Monsoon Session: Cong. ready to take on NDA in Parliament

New Delhi : As the Monsoon Session of the Parliament begins today, the Congress is all set to take on the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) Government in both the Houses on numerous issues.

Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge said the Opposition has listed out the issues to be raised in the Parliament and will again meet before the commencement of the session to list them on priority basis.

“We had a discussion about the issues which will be raised in the Parliament. Today we will meet again to list it on priority basis. Then we will think about the issue to be raised tomorrow,” he said.

Kharge also hit out at Prime Minister Narendra Modi for his remark on cow vigilantism, saying that he should act more rather than making statements.

“The prime minister has all the information about the people indulged in such activities. Doesn’t he know the name of the individual and the organisation involved in this illegal activity? He has the Intelligence Bureau, State Secretaries briefing them about the situation. He is just repeating his statements,” he said.

On the other hand, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is hopeful to do conduct the forthcoming session successfully.

“The prime minister has requested the Opposition to make the Parliament session successful. The Government is ready to discuss all the issues. We have asked the Opposition to support us and reqest them to take part in discussion,” Union Minister Ananth Kumar said.

Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi said the Government is ready to hold discussion on all the issues raised by the opposition.

“We want the monsoon session to be successful, constructive and fruitful. Whatever issues the Opposition wants to discuss we are ready for it. We had an elaborated discussion on the same in the all-party meeting,” Naqvi said.

The Opposition is likely to raise the issue of China, Jammu and Kashmir and Darjeeling unrest, impact of the GST and other issues in the Parliament Monsoon Session.

This session of the Parliament will continue till August 11.

Meanwhile, the Presidential polls preceed the session and Prime Minister Modi, BJP national president Amit Shah, and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath have already cast their vote.

Other prominent leaders, including the likes of Kumar, Naqvi, Omar Abdullah, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and others have reached the Parliament and their respective Assemblies to cast their votes.

Reportedly, jailed MLAs Chhagan Bhujbal and Ramesh Kadam will be brought to Maharashtra Legislative Assembly from prison for voting. (ANI)