Mecca Masjid Case: CBI SP awarded with ‘Medal’ for his probe

Mecca Masjid Case: CBI SP awarded with ‘Medal’ for his probe

New Delhi: The President of India on the eve of Independence day, has awarded meritorious medals to officers who have performed excellently and worked hard to put the criminals behind the bars.

Among the 30 agency officers that have been awarded by the President is CBI SP T Rajah Balaji, who had investigated the Mecca Masjid blast case and also got a confessional statement before the court from accused Swami Aseemanand, Indian Express reported.

Balaji had also investigated the Madhumita Shukla murder case which lead to the arrest and life imprisonment of Amarmani Tripathi has been awarded the Police Medal for Meritorious Service.

He is currently working in Bengaluru with the agency’s Banking Security and Fraud Cell (BSFC).

Other awardees apart from Balaji is CBI Director Alok Verma’s personal assistant and Grade – I stenographer Devendra Kapoor.

Inspectors D Damodaran and Anand Swarup have been awarded too for their investigations in Rs 13,500-crore PNB scam involving Nirav Modi and Mehul Choksi and the Commonwealth Games scam case which led to first conviction in the case respectively.

A CBI spokesperson said: “President’s Police Medals for Distinguished Service have been awarded to six officers while Police Medals for Meritorious Service have been awarded to 24 other officers.”

Other awardees of the President’s Police Medals for Distinguished Service are Superintendents of Police Nagendra Prasad, K M Varkey, Additional SP Santosh Kumar, Deputy SPs B Shankar Rao, Bijay Kumar Pradhan, and Inspector Shama Maruf.

These officers won the medal too: SPs A T Duraikumar, Pramod Kumar Manjhi, Deputy SPs Sanjay Dubey, Amit Srivastava, Shobha Dutta, Naresh Kumar Sharma, Mukesh Kumar, Inspectors Jai Raj Katiyar, U T Prakasan, Sub-Inspector Thari Narayan Sharma, Assistant Sub-Inspectors Bhani Singh Rathore, Pramod Kumar Yati, Head Constables Kishor Ram Mundel, Sathiyan Kuppuswamy, Constables Piyush Mishra, Raj Kumar Rana, Kailash Prasad Gurjar, Y S Narayana, Balbir Singh, Officer Superintendent Bhanwar Singh, and Stenographer Devender Kapoor.