Mamata announces star-studded list of Trinamool Congress candidates; upholds gender equality

Kolkata: Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee today announced names of all 42 Trinamool Congress candidates in the state. While some new film stars are on the list, as many as 10 parliamentarians have been dropped. Mamata Banerjee announced to go campaigning outside Bengal including Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Varanasi seat.

Mamata believes that Mahagathbandhan or the “grand alliance” of opposition parties will take on the BJP in the ensuing Lok Sabha elections. While announcing the names of candidates, Mamata made attacks on the BJP and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. NDTV quoted her as saying, “Modi babu must go from power, we want to see him out”.

Mamata fielded Moon Moon Sen, actor and Trinamool lawmaker, against BJP’s Babul Supriyo at Asansol. The new film stars on the list are Nusrat Jahan from Bashirhat, Mimi Chakraborty, actor, model and fashionista, from Jadavpur.

It must be noted that 41 per cent of Mamata Banerjee’s candidates are women.