Malinga to lead Sri Lanka T20 and ODI team against Kiwis

London: Fast bowler Lasith Malinga has been named as the captain of the Sri Lanka T20 and ODI team for their upcoming tour to New Zealand. Wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella, on the flip side, will serve as the deputy captain.

The decision was made by Ashantha de Mel-led Sri Lanka’s new selection committee, which was appointed over two weeks ago on the advice of their Cricket Advisory Committee while announcing the squad for the New Zealand ODI and T20s.

All-rounder Angelo Mathews who was dropped from the limited-overs team of Sri Lanka due to fitness issues has been called back to the squad along with right-hand batsman Asela Gunaratne, ESPNcricinfo reported.

In the bowling department, Sri Lanka’s spin attack has been handed over to Seekkuge Prasanna and Lakshan Sandakan. The pace-bowling group of Sri Lanka will be led by Nuwan Pradeep, Dshmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha and Lahiru Kumara.

Sri Lanka are slated to play three-match ODI series and one-off T20I against New Zealand from January 3 to 11.