Lynn, Stanlake set to make debut in Gabba Test

Melbourne [Australia]: Australian skipper Steve Smith has confirmed that Queensland duo Chris Lynn and Billy Stanlake will make their debut in the opening ODI of the five-match series against Pakistan on January 13 in Brisbane.

Lynn, who has appeared in five T20 international matches for Australia, will come into bat at number four.

Smith said Lynn would get full freedom to play the way he wants.

“He’s got a licence to play the way he wants to play.But 50 overs is a long time, so, you’ve also got to be a bit smarter with the way you play, but he’s got some freedom to go out and play nice and positively. He’s been in red hot form and hopefully he can bring that to the international stage,” quoted Smith, as saying.

Fast bowler Stanlake, on the other hand, has been restricted to just 13 matches in all formats at the domestic level due to several serious injuries. He will join Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins as well as medium-pace all rounders James Faulkner and Mitchell Marsh.

Talking about Stanlake, Smith said that he has been keeping a close eye on the towering paceman playing for the Adelaide Strikers in the BBL.

“I think he’s going to be the tallest player to play for Australia so it’s great having those kind of guys in the team.He bowls with good pace and it looks like he bowls with good control as well so it’s a good opportunity for him tomorrow,” he added.

Meanwhile, Travis Head will open the batting alongside David Warner after Aaron Finch was left out of the squad.

The elevation of Head to the top of the batting order has come at the expense of Usman Khawaja, who returned to the ODI squad but won’t play tomorrow.

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell has also been recalled in the squad for the first time in 13 matches while leg-spinner Adam Zampa has been dropped.

The Australian squad is as follows:

David Warner, Travis Head, Steve Smith (captain), Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Billy Stanlake. (ANI)