List of Indian Nobel laureates

New Delhi: Indian-origin MIT professor Abhijit Banerjee, his wife and one-time Ph.D. student Esther Duflo and Harvard professor Michael Kremer have been awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize for Economics for their work which has “dramatically improved ability to fight poverty in practice”.

Here are Indian Nobel laureates

Rabindranath Tagore:

He won Nobel Prize in Literature in 1913 for ‘Gitanjali’. Later, he was awarded a Knighthood by King George V. However, he renowned after Jallianwala Bagh Massacre.

C. V. Raman:

In 1930, he won Nobel Prize for Physics. He was the first Asian to win this award.

Later, the Indian government honoured him with the Bharat Ratna award.

Har Gobind Khorana:

He shared Nobel Prize for Physiology with Marshall W. Nirenberg and Robert W. Holley in 1968.

He became a naturalized citizen of the US in 1966.

Mother Teresa:

She won Nobel Prize for Peace in 1979. Apart from Nobel Prize, she received a number of honours including the 1962 Ramon Magsaysay Peace Prize.

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar:

Chandrasekhar received Nobel Prize in Physics in 1983. He won the prize for his work in the field of structure and evolution of stars.

Amartya Sen:

Sen whose research focused on fundamental problems in ‘Welfare Economics and Poverty’ won the Noble Memorial Prize in Economics in 1998.

He also received the Bharat Ratna award in 1999.

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan:

He shared Nobel Prize in Chemistry with Thomas A. Steitz and Ada Yonath in 2009. He won the award for his studies of the structure and function of the ribosome.

Kailash Satyarthi:

Kailash Satyarthi, the founder of Bachpan Bachao Andolan shared the Nobel Peace Prize with Malala Yousafzai of Pakistan in 2014.

He is a child rights activist. Recently, he led a nationwide march, Bharat Yatra demanding strong legislation against child rape, child sexual abuse and trafficking.

Abhijit Banerjee:

From Tihar jail inmate to Nobel laureate: Meet Abhijit Banerjee
Courtesy “twitter/NobelPrize”

Abhijit Banerjee won the 2019 Nobel Prize in Economics.

Announcing the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said that the research conducted by this year’s laureates has considerably improved the ability to fight global poverty. “In just two decades, their new experiment-based approach has transformed development economics, which is now a flourishing field of research,” the Academy said. In 2003, he founded the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL) along with Esther Duflo and Sendhil Mullainathan.