Leaders pay rich tributes to Konda Lakshman Bapuji on 102nd Jayanthi

Several leaders today paid rich floral tributes to former minister and Telangana stalwart Konda Laxman Bapuji on his 102nd birth anniversary at Indira Priyadarshini Auditorium here.

BC Welfare Minister and organizing committee Chairman Jogu Ramanna, Finance Minister Eatala Rajender, former Union minister Bandaru Dattatreya, Legislative Council Chairman Swamy Goud and leaders of various BC organizations and supporters of Konda Laxman Bapuji paid rich tributes by offering flowers to his portrait.

Jogu Ramanna recalled that Bapuji was a great leader, who sacrificed his entire life for statehood. Bapuji has relinquished minister and MLA post for the cause of the statehood in 1969 and vied for self rule Rajender said. He was also main spirit behind for starting the 2nd phase of separate Telangana agitation from Jalavihar near Tank Bund. Finally Telangana was achieved by united struggle by various political parties, he said.

Rajender said that the TRS Government is following the ideals of Bapuji for the welfare of the poor and development in all sectors. Bapuji ignited the minds of people to fight for self rule and the TRS Government launched several welfare schemes that are being appreciated at national level, he claimed.

Swamy Goud said that Bapuji was inspirational to one and all for statehood movement in the region. Telangana government will fulfill the wishes of Bapuji, for the welfare and upliftment of BCs more steps will be taken to make the Telangana as the model state in the country. Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao is determined for inclusive growth, he said.

Dattatreya said Bapuji had taken a lot of initiative for the development of Backward classes. Bapuji took the struggle to achieve the demands and started second phase of statehood movement. It is for the governments to implement welfare schemes for the cause of the poor and oppressed class who should lead a respectful life, he noted.

MP BB Patil, MLC Ponguleti Sudhakar Reddy, BC Commission Chairman Ramulu, member Vakulaabharanam Krishna Mohan, MBC Corporation Chairman T Srinivas and others were also present. (NSS)