KS Alagiri appointed as Tamil Nadu Congress president

New Delhi: Congress on Saturday made key appointments to different state and union territory units and appointed KS Alagiri as the president of Tamil Nadu Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC).

Apart from Alagiri, four other party leaders namely H Vasantha Kumar, K Jayakumar, MK Vishu Prasad and Mayura Jayakumar have been appointed as the working president of Tamil Nadu PCC.

In the fresh appointments, Mariyam Bibi is appointed as the working president of Andaman and Nicobar Islands Mahila Congress and Miani Dalbot Shira as working president for Meghalaya Mahila Congress.

The Congress president also approved the formation of Coordination Committee, Pradesh Election Committee, Publicity Committee, Media Coordination Committee and Election Management Team for Lakshdweep TCC.

To further strengthen the party ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the Congress also made the fresh appointment in AICC SC Department with Raj Kamal being appointed as National Convener of LDMRC and Raju Bichhole as Zonal Coordinator (North Zone), Dalit Shakti.

As per the announcement, fresh appointment was also made on the posts of Chairman, Convenor, Vice Chairman for SC Department in PCC’s of Delhi, Gujarat, Tripura, West Bengal and Chandigarh TCC.