Kodandaram or Ponnala: Suspense continuous over Jangaon Assembly seat ticket

Hyderabad: The Telangana Congress party has released its second list of 10 candidates for the Elections on December 7. The party picked Ramesh Rathod for Khanapur ST constituency, Jajala Surender for Yellareddy, A Laxman Kumar for Dharmapuri SC, KK Mahender Reddy for Siricilla, Kichannagari Laxma Reddy for Medchal, Dr Sravan Dasoju for Khairatabad, P Vishnu Vardhan Reddy for Jubilee Hills, C Pratap Reddy for Shadnagar, Gandra Venkata Ramana Reddy for Bhupalapalli and Kandala Upender Reddy for Palair. However, there was no mention of Janagaon constituency which has turned contentious with senior party leader Ponnala Laxmaiah staking claim, but the party unable to decide if it should be given to TJS so its president Prof M Kodandram can contest from there.

According to the report published in TOI, Congress is unable to arrive at conclusion fearing the massive backlash from BCs.

It may be mentioned that BCs want the seat for Mr. Ponnala Lakshmaiah.

It is also reported that Mr. Ponnala said that 56% of total population of Telangana State is BCs.

Meanwhile, Mr. Kodandaram is also reportedly reconsidering its decision to contest from Jangaon after the release of first list of Congress which consists of 23 names of Reddy candidates. TJS wants social justice in the grand alliance.

There are also reports that Congress is thinking to utilize the services of TJS President in all 119 constituencies of Telangana State and later, nominate him as Dy. CM of the State.