KCR to take oath as Telangana CM on Thursday

Hyderabad: K. Chandrashekhar Rao, who led the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) to a massive win in the Telangana Assembly elections, will take oath as the Chief Minister of India’s youngest state for a second consecutive term on Thursday.

He will take oath at a ceremony to be held at 1.30 p.m. at Raj Bhavan. Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan will administer him the oath of office and secrecy.

The newly elected legislators of TRS on Wednesday elected KCR their leader at a meeting held at the Telangana Bhavan, the TRS headquarters.

The TRS chief told reporters after the meeting that since the Election Commission has to issue a Gazette notification, the constitution of a full-fledged cabinet may take few days.

He said he would take the oath along with a colleague on Thursday.

KCR also sent his resignation to the Governor to facilitate formation of the new government and his swearing-in.

The TRS chief said he would try to give representation to all sections in the cabinet.

The state can have maximum 18 members in the cabinet due to the Constitutional restruction. He, however, felt that the cabinet size was proving insufficient and there was a need to increase the numbers.

A delegation of TRS leaders met the Governor and presented a resolution passed at the TRS Legislature Party meeting, unanimously electing KCR as its leader.

Earlier, Telangana Chief Electoral Officer Rajat Kumar and Election Commission’s Principal Secretary S.K. Rudola met the Governor and submitted the list of newly elected legislators.

TRS has bagged 88 seats in the 119-member Assembly in the elections held on December 7.