‘Karma’: Ravichandran Ashwin trolled mercilessly for blunder against KKR

Just two days after the controversial run-out of Jos Buttler by Kings XI Punjab’s captain Ravichandran Ashwin in the IPL, Ashwin was mercilessly trolled on Twitter for making a captaincy blunder during a match against Kolkata Knight Riders on Wednesday.

Power hitter Andre Russell of Kolkata Knight Riders was bowled out by Mohammed Shami on the last ball of 17th over. However, he was recalled after the third umpire announced that it was a no-ball since Ashwin’s side had only three fielders inside the circle when they required four.

This blunder turned out to be huge for Kings XI Punjab as Russel went on to smash 48 runs with just 19 deliveries left in the innings. KKR finished 218/4 and easily defended the total with Kings XI Punjab managing 190/4.

Moreover, Ashwin was smashed for 47 runs in his four overs. He was widely criticised for ‘mankading’ Rajasthan Royals’ Jos Buttler on Monday and faced flak from the cricket fraternity.

Mankad is when the bowler brings his arm around and, instead of releasing the ball, runs out the non-striker by whipping off the bails. This type of dismissal is rare and usually, a warning is given to the batsman beforehand.


[also_read url=”https://www.siasat.com/news/ipl-ravichandran-ashwin-sparks-outrage-he-mankads-jos-buttler-1480991/”]IPL: Ravichandran Ashwin sparks outrage as he β€˜Mankads’ Jos Buttler[/also_read]