Justice Dipak Misra sworn in as Chief Justice of India

New Delhi: Justice Dipak Misra was on Monday sworn in as the 45th Chief Justice of India.

At a brief ceremony in the Darbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhawan, President Ramnath Kovind administered the oath of office to Misra.

Justice Misra, 64, assumes office following the retirement of Justice JS Khehar on Sunday. Justice Misra will remain in office till October 2, 2018. As per the established practice, Justice Khehar had named Misra as the next CJI last month.