Julia Louis-Dreyfus to be awarded Mark Twain prize

New York: Emmy Award-Winning Julia-Louis Dreyfus has been announced the recipient of this year’s Mark Twain Prize for American Humour.
The American award for humour is awarded by the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts annually since 1998.

“Like Mark Twain, Julia has enriched American culture with her iconic, unforgettable, and outright hilarious brand of humour,” Deborah F. Rutter, the president of the Kennedy Center, said in a statement.

“Over four decades, her wildly original characters and her gift for physical comedy have left us in stitches,” she added, as reported by The New York Times.
The ‘Veep’ star took to Twitter to share her excitement.

Louis-Dreyfus joins previous Mark Twain Prize winners Bill Murray, Ellen DeGeneres, Carol Burnett, and last year’s winner David Letterman. (ANI)