JNU row: Sedition charges filed against Rahul Gandhi, Kejriwal, D. Raja

Hyderabad: Sedition charges have been filed against Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief Arvind Kejriwal, Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, Congress leader Anand Sharma, CPI leader D. Raja, CPI (M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury, and Janata Dal (United) leader K.C. Tyagi for allegedly supporting those who allegedly raised ‘anti-national’ slogans.

The FIR has been filed under section 124 A of the Indian Penal Code (IPC) and Section 156(3) of the Code of Criminal Procedure (CRPC) at the Saroornagar Police Station in Cyberabad.

An FIR has also been registered against Jawaharlal Nehru University students’ union (JNUSU) president Kanhaiya Kumar and student Umar Khalid on the same charges.

“Being a tax payer of this country, I have every right to question them who are indulging in anti-national activity and also who are encouraging anti-nationals in the name of solidarity for those who are facing criminal charges under sections of sedition under the IPC,” Petitioner Janardhan Goud told ANI.

The Delhi High Court is likely to resume hearing on a bail plea of Kanhaiya tomorrow. Kanhaiya was arrested on the sedition charges for allegedly raising anti-national slogans on the university campus.

The police had earlier interrogated four JNU students -Kanhaiya Kumar, Umar Khalid, Anirban Bhattacharya and Ashutosh Kumar – in this connection. . (ANI)