Jharkhand`s Lohardaga Assembly bypoll result: Congress` Sukhdeo Bhagat wins

Ranchi: The Congress on Thursday won Jharkhand`s Lohardaga Assembly by-election. Congress candidate Sukhdeo Bhagat won the seat, defeating BJP-backed All Jharkhand Students Union`s (AJSU) candidate Niru Bhagat.

The three main candidates were convicted legislator Kamal Kishore Bhagat`s wife Niru Bhagat, Sukhdeo Bhagat and Bandhu Tirkey of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik (JVM-P).

Sixty-seven percent of 2.20 lakh electorate voted on December 14 in the Lohardaga Assembly by-election to fill up a seat that fell vacant after AJSU legislator Kamla Kishore Bhagat was convicted and handed over a seven-year jail term in July in an extortion case.

There were nine candidates.

The seat is reserved for tribals.