Jayalaliltha replaces 8 candidates for May 16 polls

Chennai: Making yet another revision to her party candidates’ list for the May 16 Assembly polls in Tamil Nadu, AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa today replaced eight candidates, fielding three ministers and a former cabinet colleague who had not been named earlier.

Ministers for Higher Education, Rural Industries and Tourism, P Palaniappan, R Mohan and S P Shanmuganathan made their way into the latest list announced by Jayalalithaa.

jayalalitha Palaniappan will contest from Pappireddypatti, replacing G S Kuppusamy, while Mohan has been named from Sankarapuram Assembly segment in place of A S A Rajasekar. Shanmuganathan has been fielded from Srivaikuntam seat in place of M Bhuvaneswaran, according to a statement from Jayalalithaa.

Former Minister K V Ramalingam is the party’s choice for Erode (West) while sitting MLA of Arakkonam (SC) constituency, S Ravi, has replaced Ko Si Manivannan. The AIADMK supremo replaced Kovilpatti constituency candidate K Ramanujam Ganesh with sitting MLA Kadambur Raju. MDMK founder and People’s Welfare Front (PWF) Coordinator Vaiko is fighting from Kovilpatti in the polls.